Latest News

22 Jan 2020

MoU signed between DBT institutes and some leading institutes of UK

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) has been signed, in the presence of Dr. Renu Swarup, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India, on 21st January, 2020 at National Institute of Plant Genome Research (NIPGR) in New Delhi, between DBT Institutions including NIPGR, The Institute of Life Sciences (ILS-Bhubaneswar), The Institute of Bioresources and Sustainable Development, (IBSD-Manipur), The National Agri-Food Biotechnology Institute (NABI-Punjab), The Regional Centre for Biotechnology (RCB-Haryana), The Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB-Kerala) and some of the leading institutions of the United Kingdom (like The University of Cambridge, The National Institute of Agricultural Botany (NIAB), John Innes Centre, The University of Essex etc.) for promoting collaboration in the area of crop sciences beginning with overseas postdoctoral fellowships and research grants for young scientists.

As per joint India-UK partnership, the area of collaborative research would be in crop science to enhance research, promote knowledge exchange, and develop resilience in food security, focussing on Plant-Pathogen/Pest interactions, Wheat pre-breeding, Computational Biology and the fundamental plant science underpinning yield enhancement and agronomy.


See all pics